Keep on walking

Like a lot of people I received at Fitbit for Christmas last year. In the short time I’ve been wearing it I’ve noticed that it’s changed a couple of things day to day…for the better.

1. I’m more aware of how active (or not) I’ve been each day and motivated me to walk, run and increase my fitness overall. I try and get to 10,000 steps and 30 active minutes each day.
2. How much water I drink (or don’t) – you should try and consume at least 2 litres and my Fitbit helps keep my honest.

Last week I was invited to take part in a Fitbit daily challenge with a couple of work mates. The goal of this challenge was to see who could finish the day (24 hours) with the most steps. Being a competitive person this inspired me to do all that I could to win.

I started the day at 5:30am with a brisk 4 km walk before work, getting the jump on my mates and putting me 5,000 steps ahead before they got out of bed.

Whilst at work and with the challenge in the back of my mind, I was motivated to take the stairs instead of the lift between floors, take regular breaks and to go for a walk at lunch time to maintain my lead. I returned from my lunch break to a desk covered in post-it notes telling me to stop walking!

I spent majority of the afternoon in meetings and on the train ride home later that evening I watched as my lead on the pack got smaller and I was ultimately overtaken. After a bit of banter between myself and the person who overtook me (she went for a run and to a step class at the gym) I decided that I wasn’t going to be beaten and went for a 4.5 km run to regain my lead.

By 10:30pm that evening I was feeling pretty confident in the fact that I had a 2,500 step lead on one of my work mates and over 10,000 steps on another and decided that I’d call it a day on 18,934 steps.

At 11:15pm and alert was sent to my phone that Chris (the person once 10,000 steps behind me) had taken the lead. It turns out that Chris went for a 2 hour walk and pounded out 13,000 steps in the process. I thought about getting out of bed and trying to make the near 5,000 steps required to regain the lead, however time wouldn’t permit – I’d have to settle for second place.

The next day we had plenty of laughs recapping the events of challenge – beware of the person who you think has quit.

I’ve found my Fitbit to be a great motivator to get active in the short time I’ve had it. It can also help to build cross team and company collaboration.

IMG_5847

This entry was posted in Fitbit, Fitness, Motivation, People, Teams, Wearables and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

